School of Graduate Studies

Utah State University Logo

Graduate Mentor Award

The Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award recognizes faculty excellence in the complex process of mentoring graduate students to prepare them for productive careers. Those nominated should be effective advisors who facilitate degree completion, model sound scholarship and ethical behavior, help students understand and benefit from departmental and university resources, provide emotional support, offer constructive criticism and involve students in publishing and other professional activities. The award is presented at the Graduate Hooding and Commencement Ceremony each year.


Nominations may be submitted by USU faculty, students, alumni, or a department or program and are due to the School of Graduate Studies Office (Main 164) by November 23, 2010. Each nomination should include the following:

  • A letter of no more than 5 pages discussing the nominee's mentoring approach, activities and successes
  • The nominee's curriculum vitae, including a list of graduate students mentored and identification of publications co-authored with graduate students
  • A list of persons whom you have requested to send letters of support (support letters should arrive by the deadline and may be submitted electronically to These letters may be released to the media after the award is announced.


The recipient of the award is given a prize of $2,000 and is invited to prepare a brief essay about his or her mentoring experiences that is shared with the university community.

Past Recipients:

  • 2011 – Kenneth White
  • 2010 – James Evans
  • 2009 – Randall Jones
  • 2008 – Terry Messmer
  • 2007 – Basudeb Biswas and Michael Toney
  • 2006 – Edward Brody
  • 2005 – Richard Krannich
  • 2004 – none
  • 2003 – Steve Aust
  • 2002 – Jon Takemoto
  • 2001 – Bruce Bugbee
  • 2000 – Brent Miller
  • 1999 – Fred Provenza
  • 1998 – Kenneth Brewer
  • 1997 – William Campbell
  • 1996 – Charles Salzberg